29 Jul

Yes – Yessongs on Vinyl

I am a big fan of progressive rock, and no prog-rock collection is complete without Yes. I have already reviewed Relayer by Yes.

Yessongs is a 3 disc (vinyl record discs) collection of live concert recordings. It was recorded during the Close To The Edge tour, and was released in 1973.

Yes - Yessongs Vinyl Album Cover

Yessongs features extended solos by most of the band, except for Jon Anderson and the (at the time) new drummer, Alan White. Because it is 3 discs, it has a lot more album art as you open it up. Of course, this art is done by Roger Dean, the legendary Yes album artist.

On the charts, Yessongs hit #7 in the UK, and #12 in the US. It also went Platinum in April of 1998.

Yessongs Track Listing

Side One

  1. Opening (excerpt from ‘Firebird Suite’)
  2. Siberian Khatru

    Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

  3. Heart of the Sunrise

Side Two

  1. Perpetual Change
  2. And You and I

Side Three

  1. Mood for a Day
  2. Excerpts from ‘The Six Wives of Henry VIII’
  3. Roundabout

Side Four

  1. I’ve Seen All Good People
  2. Long Distance Runaround/The Fish (Schindleria Præmaturus)

Side Five

  1. Close to the Edge

Side Six

  1. Yours Is No Disgrace
  2. Starship Trooper

Yes was one of those bands, along with Genesis, that were responsible for bringing prog rock to the masses. Without them, our music would be bland today (of course, I think most of the pop music today is bland). If you are into Yes, but don’t have Yessongs, you need to buy it at MusicStack. They play these songs a bit differently live than they do in a studio, and it is a great album.

Search 25 Million Music CDs & LPs at MusicStack

Leave A Comment:

Leave a Reply