03 Jan

John Cougar Mellencamp – Scarecrow on Vinyl LP

I love John Cougar Mellencamp, or John Mellencamp, or John Cougar, whichever you choose. My wife loves him to. He writes great American rock music; music born in the heartland of the US.

This album gets its name from the title track “Rain on the Scarecrow”, which is about farms that have been in families for generations that are being taken away. You can buy “Scarecrow” at Musicstack.

Of course, “Small Town” is the biggest and most well known (but didn’t chart the highest) track off of this album. It charted at #6 along with “Lonely Ol’ Night”. “R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.” hit #2 in the US Charts. The album itself also went to #2, was named #95 on Rolling Stones 100 Greatest Albums of the 80’s.

John Cougar Mellencamp - Scarecrow on Vinyl

I love the second track, which is just Mellencamp’s grandma singing along with a guitar. When artists do that, it says to me that they care about the music, and family, and not about commercialized and packaged music.

One thing about this album, is that the labels are on the wrong side. Side one label is actually on side two and vice versa. If only that made it rare and worth about $25,000 I’d be set.

Some of these songs are more applicable to America today than they were twenty years ago. For example, the lyrics of “Face of the Nation” are so appropriate to what is happening in the US today.

Track Listing:

Side one:

  1. Rain on the Scarecrow
  2. Grandma’s Theme
  3. Small Town (MP3)

    Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

  4. Minutes to Memories
  5. Lonely Ol’ Night
  6. Face of the Nation

Side Two:

  1. Justice and Independence ’85
  2. Between a Laugh and a Tear
  3. Rumbleseat
  4. You’ve Got to Stand for Something
  5. R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.
Search 25 Million Music CDs & LPs at MusicStack

Leave A Comment:

One Response to “John Cougar Mellencamp – Scarecrow on Vinyl LP”

  1. rags Says:

    Just got this. Enjoying it!

Leave a Reply